Total newbie here...

Joroy

Well, I'm finally ready to setup a studio in my basement, and I was just wondering if I'm missing any components. I really know nothing about recording, so any advice or info is appreciated. Well, this is what I've kinda figured would be the best for a beginning home recorder like myself - I'm going to get ProTools Digi 001, a Beringer MX602A mixer (wondering if it would be worth it to get a MX1604A which comes with 4 mic preamps as opposed to 2), 2 Shure SM57 mics with Shure C50J cables, and (here's where I'm really unsure) maybe Alesis M1 Active MK2 monitors (I'm not sure if I want to spend $500 for monitors - any suggestions for other, cheaper, powered monitors?). Like I said, I don't know much at all about this, and this is what I've put together just from doing some research myself. I'm really concerned about the monitors and a mixer. I don't want to spend more than $200 on a mixer. Any suggestions besides the Beringer? I've heard that Yamaha NS 10 monitors are good, but I can't find prices for them anywhere. Thanks in advance!

Jordy (having to post under "Joroy" because someone stole my name!)

I've been using the DIGI 001 for a year with excellent results. I may suggest, however that you wait on the mixer as you can get along without one for a while until you can afford the MotorMix (http://www.cmautomation.com/) which is made specifically for the 001. Yeah, I know it's 900 plus dollars but it's worth it and you will eventually want it as it has motorized faders and mimics the Mix window in ProTools.

newbie too

I have just started my home studio for a few months and I am using the Behringer 602A... I am quite happy with it and it works pretty well for very basic recording purposes... ( recording one instrument at a time)... of course if you have the extra cash, you can always go for something bigger... the Behringer 802A looks pretty cool.