Total Newbie Help!

guitargirl7

Back in December 2011, I started my journey with the recording world. Unfortunately, horrible gear held me back from being able to explore and grow as a recording artist. Now that I have new gear, I'm ready to start making music! Being a newbie to the recording world has one of the biggest downsides that I’m facing at the moment… Learning terminology, mastering tracks, and pretty much everything else that has to do with learning about DAW. Having just purchased Pro Tools 10, I want to be able to make the most out of my recordings as possible, and at the moment, I don’t know where to start.

I've watched tutorials, searched the web, posted on many forums, and have learned some key basic information. The problem is that I am lost when it comes to the above topics (which are huge to the recording business), and haven't found something or someone who has gone into detail about them.

I know that there is no magic secret or spell, but I want to know if there is a website, book, video, ect, that can teach me more about recording to help me know what exactly I'm dealing with. Besides the obvious answer, time and experience, what has helped you learn the most about recording?

Any recommendations are welcome, and extremely appreciated!

Thank you!

Last edited:
To learn, do! Really, just start recording tracks, paying attention to what you have learned and what you are doing, so that you can go back and analyze what you did (wrong or right).
There is no magic tutorial that will make a recording genius!
There is a learning curve, and as you do more, it will get easier and you can ask more exact questions.

This is a serious suggestion, not a jab.

Chapter two is particularly useful. (that was a jab :P)

I find google books is a fantastic resource, even with the limited previews.
Picking up the terminology is great, but MJB is right. Just do it. :)