Total Newbie

EllieW

Hello to All.....

I hope I am in the right place! I would like to record classes that I give - and then put them on a cd - and I have no idea how to do this -- I just know it can be done!

Classes are approximately 15 people - I need to record me and then later in the class I need to record the questions that the participants have -- then my response.

So -- I need software - I need microphones -

I don't know what else I would need -- and I don't know the most efficient and not too expensive software and mics to use.

I have a Dell Lattitude D600 Laptop - Win XP Pro - 1024 Ram - Sound Devices SigmaTel C-Major Audio ----
Will this computer be able to do this?

Any advice is greatly appreciated -- I am willing to learn -- just don't know where to go to learn!! :confused:

Thanks for your help,
Ellie

Depends on how much money you have to spend and if you don't mind finding used. First, you'll need an audio interface to get the signal from the microphone into the computer. A couple inexpensive items to look at are the Tascam US122 ($200) or the M-Audio MobilePre ($150). Those are boxes that the microphone connects to and then continue on through USB to the computer.
Next you'll need microphones with long enough cables to stretch to your computer. If you're not too interested in quality of sound, you can definitely find a ton of mics out there perfect for you. Some to start off on might be the AKG D8000S pak. I think musiciansfriend.com is selling 2 for $50. Or you can buy their other mic package which includes the D8000S mics plus two stands and two cables for 80 bucks (not sure if they come with mic clips though...might need to look into that too). Of course you could always go with Radio Shack mics....eeek.