Tips for a beginner..?

Bea Saburova

I am completely new to this subject. Can somebody recommend me any topics I should first learn and do research on as a beginner? Things that I should learn without having any equipment.

Hey Bea!

As a relative beginner myself, I would recommend getting equipment - even if it's spending $75 on a Tascam Portastudio.

Reason being, it's much easier to learn with some kind of recording device in hand that has the bare basics (simple EQ, panning, and volume faders).

Heck, my junk Tascam DP-01FX even has reverb.

It kinda depends on what you want to learn thoug. I have the Mixing Engineer's Handbook, and it gets me by for mixing basics. I won't post a mix on here for another month or so though - so maybe wait until that's been reviewed prior to making any purchases.

Daryl

I am completely new to this subject. Can somebody recommend me any topics I should first learn and do research on as a beginner? Things that I should learn without having any equipment.

Hi Bea and welcome...How long have you got? !

First off, What exactly do you want to do? Home recording breaks down into, at its simplest, someone that just wants to record their voice but at a better level of quality than is available on say a laptop or phone.

Next level of complexity is an instrument, very often electric guitar but if ACOUSTIC guitar the recording gear specifications get somewhat tighter.

What sort of computer do you have available? Virtually any desktop made in the last 5 years will be fine as will 95% of laptops (and even 4% of the 5% can usually be "fixed"!).

The room will ultimately need some acoustic treatment but that can be left for "further reading" for now.