Think i just broke my powered speakers. Hopefully someone can confirm they are ******

seand

Hi, I've been a total idiot and almost for sure broken my presonus eris 4.5 speakers Eris 4.5 | PreSonus but i just want to check they can't be saved before replacing them because they are just out of warranty.

I was trying to hook up a record deck to them using an external amplifier via some speaker cable. The sound was coming through fine but i then stupidly turned on the speakers as well and the cone immediately pushed all the way out and made a humming noise on one of the speakers. Now when turn the speakers on the cone pushes out and makes a humming noise even if i have nothing connected to them and there is no other sound coming through. Are they completely broken or does anyone think this can be fixed somehow (unlikely i know).

Firstly because i'm a newbie idiot who doesn't know what he's doing and secondly because i could not get any volume at all connecting a record deck to them so i thought they might work as stand alone speakers with an external amp which i connected the record deck to instead. Expensive lesson. Any idea where i could get a quote from for a repair?

I'd say they're toast. Sure, they can be repaired but probably not for much less than a new pair.

And why would you do this?:

Because the opportunity presents itself with the connectors on the speakers :eek:

Agree they are likely toast, or at least the powered one if the one with just the speaker connectors is just a straight up speaker.

Have you checked the "external amp" to see if that is toast as well?

Attachments

• PRESONUS+RPRERISE45-1edit.JPG
    PRESONUS+RPRERISE45-1edit.JPG
    109.1 KB · Views: 8