That's IT!!! I've had it!!!

Oscar Myer

Hi all...

So once again I've found myself wasting hours and getting totally frustrated trying to set up my MIDI gear - this time in Reaper - and getting it all to work. I usually manage to stumble on it somehow, but this time I give up. I hit a wall. I have no more time to sit here covered in wires trying everything under the sun to get it running.

I'm thinking about putting out some money on a half decent library of VST plugins. I've never worked with any plugins before except for a few FX - reverb, chorus and such. But from what I see, working with these plugins would make my life a lot easier. I also see that the sounds that are out there today are nothing short of spectacular.

My question is: Do most quality VST plugin bundles work with most DAWs? I want to start using Reaper. Will a quality library of VST work with it?

Is it really as easy as it looks to work with VST? Would it be the same as the way I work with my MIDI modules... pick a patch to use and then go with it?

My MIDI keyboard controller is old, meaning that it isn't USB. I have an M-Audio UNO USB MIDI interface. Will I still be able to use it with plugins? Or will I have to buy a new MIDI controller as well?

I am very serious about trashing all the stuff I have and going in a new direction. I just want to sit down in front of my computer, turn on the controller, spark up Reaper and make music. Am I going down the right path that will take me to that place where I want to be? So many questions to be asked but after all, this is a Newbie forum so I'm pretty sure I'm asking these questions in the right place and to the right people. :)

All help and guidance is very much appreciated!!!

Bobby

Hi Oscar,
Sorry you're getting it rough. If we can help with your current hardware setup don't be afraid to backtrack a little and have another go at that
but, to answer your questions.....