suggest a low cost basic studio that you would think sounds okay

your job is, if you accept it mr phelps, is to specify the lowest cost total home studio that you could live with soundwise

to keep it from becoming bananas and kumquats let us say that it would have

stereo pair of mike inputs plus two more line inputs plus midi capability
assume we have headphones so we dont confuse the issue with speakers too

so besides the audio interface we need
basic DAW software that handles midi
and two mikes

assume we have a good pc along with mike stands, pop filters, cables, yada yada
and do not worry about fancy stuff like control surface, DI boxes, etc nor any instruments being played except a midi keyboard
also ignore any fancy orchestra libraries for starters too

likewise ignore room treatment and all the fancy stuff that may come later
as well as tables and other furniture items

just specify the MINIMUM acceptable audio gear to get started for a total noobie to do recording mixing/mastering with midi.
DAW
audio interface
midi controller
microphone pair
(headphones assumed)
(computer assumed)

That should be enough to still generate many differing recommendations
estimate the total cost to get started with a good enough studio if not one that will be a threat to RCA or telefunken

feel free to note what else should be considered in the future
plug ins yada yada
other hardware
whatever

Why don't you go first?

dont want to bias the results

here is what one web site says
if you need some ideas to get started

If you’re a beginner, and mixing is your focus, you could start with Pro Tools since this is the widely use recording software in the industry today.
When it comes to production, I recommend Ableton. In my opinion, Ableton is the most versatile and fun DAW on the market today.

his top picks: midi
*Akai MPK Mini MKII 25-Key
*Akai MPK249
*Novation Launchkey 61 MK2 Version
and
his top picks: mikes
*Audio-Technica AT2020
*M-Audio Nova
*MXL V67G
and