Struggling to output the sound from a dynamic mic via the speakers on a computer

vasil.christov

Hi guys,

I am new to audio stuff even though I have been singing my whole life. Hope you can help.

I bought a mic (Shure Beta 58A) which I connected to my audio interface (M-Audio M-track Plus) which is directly connected to my computer speakers (normal computer speakers, I can check which ones if needed)

I was hoping that the dynamic microphone would be outputted via the speakers but that does not happen yet. I am not sure what I am missing. I know the audio interface has phantom power so I was assuming this would be enough to power up the mic.

Any idea what I am missing? Do I need an additional amplifier that would give more power or the speakers need to be some sort? Would really appreciate the help!

Well, forget the phantom, the mic doesn't need power - but the key here is the software. The interface send the audio to the computer, the computer sends it to the interface -ONCE- your software sets the routing up. in many DAWs, you need to tell it to use the interface, then select the socket the mic is plugged into, then you might have to press a button to hear the mic through the speakers, when of course it will immediately feedback. I cubase, you select a track to record on, make sure the red Rec button is it, and then if you need to hear it, click a small spark icon. Other software will be similar.

You would not use an audio interface and computer speakers for 'live' use. What exactly are you trying to do?

Oh yes sorry, did not explain that last comment properly :)

The current use case will be at home only. I am taking lessons and want to get comfortable using a dynamic mic as currently I have only done singing without one.