Stereo speakers vs. Recording speakers - What the difference?

arbiboy

Hey guys,
I was just wondering whats the difference between stereo speakers and recording speakers (I think they're called recording speakers.....idk but people use them for recording)? They kinda look the same but I think Ive seen someone say that "stereo speakers transmit power and computer speakers transmit signals". Do they produce the same sound or do they give completely different results?

Thanks,
Arbiboy

(Btw im new to this "home recording" stuff )

(Btw im new to this "home recording" stuff )

Yeah, I'll say.:p

I have never heard the difference between home-audio speakers and monitors (the most common name for "recording speakers") expressed like that- and frankly, it sounds like total double-speak, to me. Structurally and electronically, the two types of speakers are the same- a (usually) wooden box with two or three drivers mounted in it, and a crossover to send the high frequencies to the tweeter, the mids to the, well, mid, and the lows to the woofer. Perhaps a port of some sort to enhance bass response. Both types receive an electrical signal that corresponds to sounds, the coils transfer that electrical energy to mechanical energy, the cones and boxes amplify and "color" the sound. You can hook monitors up to a home-audio system, and by the same token, you can use, to some degree or success or failure, home-audio speakers as monitors. Computer speakers are nothing but small, relatively low-quality "speakers" that follow the same basic design.