Stepping Up from Audacity

DaveLeeNC

I am pretty new to home recording. Right now my recording is limited to just a single (stereo) track of classical guitar (sometimes with Webcam video and sometimes not). All audio is captured with a Yeti Blue Pro mic USB'ed into a Dell XPS (Windows 10) laptop running Audacity. Right now about all the audio processing that I do is some noise reduction, maybe a bit of EQ (or maybe not), volume normalization, and it is done.

If I were to do 'more' it might be related to simple effects (like adding reverb) or I can imagine a bit of multi-track stuff where I might add a backing track. Nothing more complicated than that seems likely to me.

Am I really missing anything here by not going to a 'real' DAW like Reaper?

If it matters I work in a small space (11x12' bedroom), carpeted, full of furniture, and do have a pair of decent JBL near field, powered, 5 inch monitor speakers. My 'sound card' comes from a USB attached Line 6 Pod HD500X guitar amplifier simulator (this also drives the speakers).

Thanks.

dave (new guy, even by the standards of the 'Newbie Subforum')

I think once you get used to the workflow required for any DAW, you'll regret the time you spent doing these things in Audacity.

Like many around here, I use Audacity fairly routinely for a quick listen/inspection or even the occasional editing of audio files, but I never record or mix with it anymore.

There are few recordings that wouldn't benefit from a tiny bit of compression and reverb to make them a little more "radio ready" and the tools for things like reverb and compression in even the most basic DAWs are so much more intuitive, and I'll say probably sonically more authentic/better than the Audacity ones. (Very much my opinion, of course.)