Start With A Scratch Track, or Grid?

Being new to the DAW method of production, I'm wrestling with the most fundamental question: What foundation to begin from?

In the first case, i played and sang a scratch track, then added bass, new vocals, drums and piano. Getting the timings right was a huge effort.

Next i started with a MIDI file from Chordify which of course had all the exact measures. This time the hard part was playing into the grid with steady tempo! Of course i should note that I'm a completely amateur musician!

Is there an established common method of how to start?

Listen....what you're describing is not unusual for a beginning or very amateur musician who is at the same time trying to get used to recording.....but adding drums after you've already put down vocal and bass and guitar is not easy and can lead to the timing issues you had. There's no real right or wrong method......but maybe try to begin with a click track and work your way from there.

Mick

Thanks guys! Yeah, that pesky click track! My personal demon! I somehow must learn to use it!

I've posted before about my trouble using click. First of all, as I'm playing, i lose consciousness (awareness) of the darn clicking! It's almost like my brain trys to eminate the external noise!

Yes, putting in drums after the scratch track was....... Painfully hard.

If I were to do a vocal as first track, I would not use a metronome or click. I would visually follow the play cursor and hit the bars where needed. It's not distracting at all as visual input doesn't conflict with vocal output as much as a metronome/click's audio can.. and does.

This is my personal experience and may not apply to other's.