Sony MDM-X4 MKII

i've been looking around for a good 4 track recorder and i've pretty much narrowed it down to a few choices, one of them being the sony mdm-x4, which looks really cool and everything, but i can't seem to find the huge wealth of info availble on, say, the tascam 424mk2... so bascially, anyone have any web pages of reviews or anything? reply or email me with your own if you've tried or own one... thanks.

jp

JP- I'm not razzing on you; these are both fun choices for starting out in recording, but to ask for a comparison between them is sort of like calling one of those car gurus
for their recommendation on a vehicle and saying, "I've narrowed my choices down to a Mazda Miata, a Chevy Suburban and a Puch moped."

Did you read the 424 review at this site?
http://www.homerecording.com/424mk3.html

If I was starting out all over again, I'd probably go with the MD format over cassette.

hi JP...im a newbie too...but from what i understand the minidisk format is fairly compressed which means you lose fidelity along the way....but i could be wrong...i have a fostex FD-8 with a 250 zip drive and so far i love it...they also make a four track version...try looking around www.8thstreet.com they have pretty competitive prices also...hope i helped

spin

drstawl: no no, i'm not asking for a comparison at all, just some reviews... i'm just saying that there is a ton of information available for a lot of other recorders (and i used the 424 as an example) and so far i haven't been able to find much on the mdm-x4 ...

jp

thanks for the reply, i had already checked out the top link, one of the few places that had anything useful on it... the second one should be a lot of help too.

does anyone on this board have one?

jp

Hi-
I owned the Sony minidisc unit you are referring to. I thought it was a well-built,
easy to use quality machine..The best 4 track minidisc unit out there, in my book.