Side Address Microphones in Stereo Arrangements.

ohoke

Hi there -
I am new to recording (and the forum).
I'm interested in trying some stereo patterns, such as ORTF and X/Y. (There is a wikipedia article under Stereophonic Sound, but I'm unable to post the link since I'm a newbie).

However, I only have a pair of side-address microphones (I'm not sure what the technical term is for the microphones used in the diagrams..pencil microphones?)...

Can I use side-address for these techniques? Is there a difference?

Thanks.

Hi, and welcome to HR! :)

Sure, you can do X/Y etc with your side address microphones.

The only real difference is you may not be able to get the capsules just as close together as you would with pencil microphones, since the housing/headbaskets are bigger,
but it's not really going to make a noticeable difference to your recordings.

No - the critical factor is simply orientation. With two mics of this kind, you mount them above each other. The first one in the normal orientation, then the other above it hanging down so their grills nearly touch. You then spin them on the verticals axis so the capsules aim differently by the amount required for the specific technique. For X/Y the idea is to get the two capsules as close to each other as you can. Side by side or one above the other is immaterial. With ORFT, the capsules have to be spaced apart anyway, so they can go next to each other, then you splay them apart. Works fine. Look at it just from the capsule point of view. The housing they're in just holds them in space.

Assuming you meant side address and not figure 8 yes you can use them.

x/y is bet done with two end fed mikes. but if you rotate your side address and get them close to each other at 90 degrees they should work.

ORTF only works for that one dutch auditorium and their orchestra.
It is just one of many near spaced configurations with varying distances and angles used to get the best for a given room and performers.