Shure SM7B Static

ntd92

Hey everyone, I am very new to the audio world so bare with me as my knowledge is not as experienced as many of yours is.

So I recently purchased a Shure SM7B for just vocals primarily for streaming games on Twitch, but I also wanted a future proof microphone and I felt this microphone suited my needs as I don't have a very good room for sound control.
I previously owned a Blue Yeti usb and I absolutely did not enjoy it so this is my first time using an XLR microphone.

I purchased these items as I thought they would have been a lower cost solution to some more expensive equipment and a step up from the cloudlifter and remain suitable for what I was looking to do, however I'm starting to feel like maybe I didn't make the right decision.

Products:
Shure SM7B
Focusrite 2i4 2nd Gen
DBX286s
XLR Male to 1/4-Inch TRS Male
XLR standard cable

Now the issue that I am having is static and it seems it always happens at a specific time window from around 12am - 4am. Now when I unplug everything and come back to it the static disappears and it returns to normal, I get about maybe 3-4 hours if I am lucky without any trouble. I've attached my DBX knob placements here. Thanks for your time and hopefully I can get this resolved.

Attachments

• IMG_20181003_043918.jpg
    IMG_20181003_043918.jpg
    17.7 KB · Views: 17
  • Shure SM7B (Static).mp3
    136.2 KB · Views: 28
Last edited:
Hi there,
Is this static on the input signal or just the output path?
If you're not sure, take a recording when the static is happening and play it back at a later time, then let us know if the static is present.

Knowing that tells you where you need to look for a solution, although it would do no harm to make 100% certain that all of your cables are balanced. Do you have a multimeter?

Also, how are you monitoring? Headphones or speakers?
If speakers, are the output cables balanced?