Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Shocks to the lips from the mic

Thanks

Shocks to the lips from the mic

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi, I'm Boskins and I am a noob!

I am setting up my first home studio and am getting mild electric shocks from my dynamic mic when I touch my guitar strings. The shocks are tingling like if you put a pp3 battery on your lips, not sharp shocks like static.

I have checked, replaced, removed, re-ordered and reintroduced practically every part of the signal chain.

With guitars attached to their amps and the mic attached alone to the mixer and speakers there is never a shock. Once I introduce a piece of equipment running on AC power to the mixer, the tingle returns. This happens when I attach a keyboard on AC or introduce an effects loop where the effects are running on AC.

With the keyboard and the effects running on battery power there is no tingle so my assumption is that AC power is leaking through my signal chain

I have checked the guitar amps, the mixer and the power strip are all correctly grounded, everything is running from the same strip and I have checked that my mains ring is correctly wired to ground. I have tried two separate mixers, switched out or updated many cables and tried introducing an external ground connection from the mixer and from the speaker casing.

I haven't tried ground loop isolators yet but since these are designed to remove hum and I don't have any hum, I didn't want to buy more stuff I don't need. I realise that a foam shield on the mic could help but I don't want to just mask the problem. I want to get to the bottom of it.

I am running out of things to try and would appreciate any suggestions as I am very keen to not electrocute my children or their friends.

Many thanks, Boskins

Thanks