Selecting a Midi Keyboard

massageman69

Hi everyone, I'm new to all of this and setting up a little home studio to start dabbling with. I've been watching lots of videos of all of the different Midi keyboards and I've pretty much narrowed it down to the following ones but what I need help with is understanding the pros and cons with each of them.

Akai MPK249
Native Instruments S49 MK2
Alesis Ai49

I want the ability for this keyboard to grow with me. I have Logic Pro X. I know you can use the keyboard for drums but I'm not sure if most prefer to use the the drumming pads, so I was looking at the Native Instruments Maschine as well. Is this overkill?

The videos I've watched with the Native Instruments I really like how you can find all the sounds on the keyboard and not having to click around through the software to find them or make adjustments. As for the Alesis and Akai, I assume they will do the same thing but you will have to select your sounds manually in Logic for each track?

Quality, for any of you that have any of these, how do you find the quality of them? I'm afraid to buy something cheaper because I'm afraid I will outgrow its capabilities and/or durability. Can anyone offer some advice on these or if there is another model to look at?

Thanks,
Brian

Hi Brian and welcome.
Now, I am NOT a keyboards man! But I am all you are likely to get at this hour of a Sunday morn so....

Those three keyboards are "controllers" that is to say they do not of themselves contain any "sounds" but merely trigger (afaict) instruments in software.