Rookie set up questions.

soulsurf

Ok heres the deal. I've been playing guitar for 15 years, recording a lil using pc/midi basically sonar with combo amp setups very basic. The setup I seek would be for vocals and guitars to start out. I have a open basement and was gonna have a vocal/console/guitar room built. So my first question is what equipment (basics) would I need to start one out. I was thinkin maybe of spending around 2-3,000 on equipment to start and I have a good pc with sonar 5 producers edtion on it. So What I'm really trying to say whats the best kinda gear to get started. Also for the guitars anyone know a good mic for instruments I have always heard direct connection is not good for guitar better to mic it? So any help with this or suggestions of using a pc based or non pc based system would be great. And the 2-3k would just be for starters I can always add later. I know this is a repost from h*ll I apologize but the other post I searched didnt seem to answer my questions

Last edited: