Recording Vocals and Digital Keyboard with Scarlett 4i4 (newbie question)

TVDO

Hello Everyone!

I am new to the world of recording music, and just finished my setup! My ultimate goal is to be able to film video of myself singing covers while playing chords on a digital keyboard (Yamaha P-125).

I am using the following equipment:
- Focusrite Scarlett 4i4
- Macbook Pro
- Garageband as my DAW
- Neewer NW-700 condenser microphone
- Yamaha P-125 Digital Piano (connected to 4i4 via 2x TS cables)

After playing around with my new setup, I ran into a few issues, and was wondering if you guys could please help me out. I have connected my microphone to input 1 of the 4i4, and connected my Yamaha P-125 digital piano to the back two line inputs 3 + 4 via two TS cables. Problem is, when i record my digital piano via Garageband, the volume is extremely low. To test something out, I connected the P-125 to the front two inputs of the 4i4, and through adjusting the gain controllers, I was able to receive a much stronger signal in Garageband; problem is, I need one of the front inputs for my microphone.

My questions are:
- is there a way for me to increase the recording volume of my digital piano when connected to the rear 3+4 line inputs in my DAW?
- do i need to purchase the Focusrite 18i8 instead, since there are four preamp inputs?
- are TS cables the right cables to use from my P-125 to Scarlett 4i4? I know the inputs in the 4i4 are balanced, but I think the P-125 has unbalanced line-out; not sure what the right answer is.
- is my setup okay? or am I missing something?

Thank you so much in advance!

Neewer into Input 1 via XLR, Yamaha into line inputs 3 & 4 via TS = all good. So you have connected everything up ok, and you should be getting good levels from the keyboard.

However, the Scarlett doesn't have any gain controls that I can see for inputs 3 & 4, so you would have to control the level elsewhere.