Recording solo acoustic guitar - to be played as backing track?

TooSteep

Hi all:

I am just a guitar player. Total, total newb on recording.

I wonder what is the minimum gear/software I need to get to be able to record solo acoustic steel-string guitar (1 or 2 tracks, layered - just 1 track at a time) at a quality level high enough that I could take the recording and play it back over a live sound system as a backing track to live playing?

I'd love the whole setup and software to be dead easy to setup and use, as I'd like to focus much more on the playing than the recording. But I do need the sound quality to be very good if this is going to be useful.

I have a recent-vintage desktop computer (Core2Duo e7300, XP, 2 GB RAM), my guitar and nothing else. I don't mind if the microphone and other gear are suited just for acoustic guitar, as that is all I will use them for.

Thanks a lot.

You need a simple audio interface (100 quid) a microphone (cheapest is 70 up to 300)

Your PC is a good enough spec to deal with it.

Overall your looking at about 200 quid (400 dollars) I would say for a cheap setup. Does you guitar have an internal mic/pick-up?

Google lexicon alpha/omega, m audio USB interface and presonus interface's

..I'd love the whole setup and software to be dead easy to setup and use, as I'd like to focus much more on the playing than the recording. But I do need the sound quality to be very good if this is going to be useful.
Based on that perhaps one of the combo' box recorders? The whole PC-DAW thing is more flexible' etc (except for portability) but much higher in setup, config, and learning curves.

more info ...

more info:

* right now, I have no pickup or electronics on the guitar.

* actually, I do also have a Boss Micro BR portable recorder. I have tried it, but been unable to get useful sound quality (I'm sure that could be driver error - but it always sounds thin and echoey).