recording with pc (absolute beginner)

NoUse

I want to record a few songs with my band.
But I don't know how. I thought of recording first only drums and bass, then both guitars and finally vocals. Is this a good idea?

My second problem is, I don't know what to use.
We have a Behringer MX-2642, it has 4 subgroups, 6 aux-sends, and direct outs on the first 8 channels (mono channels), 4 stereo channels, 4 aux-returns.

I want to record it with my pc (AMD Athlon XP 1600+, 256 mb ddr ram, 80 gb HD).

Can anybody help me (tell me programs to use, tutorials or anything other).

(I'm sorry for my english)

The Behringer will be usable as a front end, so you don't need any audio interfaces with built-in mic/instrument preamps.

You can get an eight-channel soundcard and some good recording software and record the band playing live. Or you can get an interface with fewer inputs and record parts in a few passes. For micing a drum kit you'll be better off if you can separate the parts of the kit to a few channels, so I'd suggest a 4-channel interface is a minimum. That way you can keep the snare and kick on their own tracks and the other parts of the kit on two more channels and have reasonable control during mixdown.

Lots of candidate hardware and software applications out there...

Recording with pc

NoUse,
Howdy from Texas!
Welcome to the world of computer recording. You will no doubt receive more advice than you can possibly wade through some of it seemingly conflicting as well.
First of all I would like to say there is no "one right way" to do what you are seeking to do, with that in mind I will gladly give you "my opinion" of what I would do.
I am making the following assumptions in making my suggestions. Anywhere my assumptions are wrong, my advice may be as well.