Recording levels, mixing levels, final levels?

pntbllrspdr

Newbie here. I have a small amount of experience with recording but I'm confused when it comes to volume levels. After researching some I found that I should record around -18dB to -12dB? This confused me some because when I record that low, it becomes quite hard to even hear it. I know (think) during the mixing I'm supposed to raise the volume, to what levels I don't know. I use Ableton Live and the volume slider only lets me go up 6dB so it would still be quite quiet. Perhaps this difference is made up with compression or something, hopefully you guys could enlighten me there haha. And I'm also not sure what the master level should be after I'm all done. I always assumed it should be very close to 0 but never go ever. Any would be greatly appreciated!

The reason for this is that is to avoid clipping the input. If your track ventures into distortion you can ruin a perfectly good take. Also as the number of tracks in your project increases your master bus will get closer and closer to 0 db. If the levels were all around -3 db it wouldn't be long before you run out of headroom and start having to bring all the faders down.

Lomg story short.......

It's totally normal to have to turn your monitors way up during the tracking and mixing stages. Get an overall mix that sounds good without worrying about how loud it is/isn't.

Once you have your 2-track final mix, import that into a new project and you can use a compressor/limiter to get the volume up if you need to.

Lomg story short.......

It's totally normal to have to turn your monitors way up during the tracking and mixing stages. Get an overall mix that sounds good without worrying about how loud it is/isn't.

Once you have your 2-track final mix, import that into a new project and you can use a compressor/limiter to get the volume up if you need to.