Recording guitar at home with IR's

SlushPuppy

Hey there

I’m back in the home recording game during lockdown, and a lot has changed since I last recorded my band in 2011! Specifically IR’s…

Basically I’m seeking some advice on recording guitars from my audio interface into Reaper, and there are so many options out there. I’m new to IR’s, and have NADIR (from STL Tones/Ignite Amps) and their stock IR’s courtesy of Emissary… and not much else. I also took advantage of the Torpedo Wall of Sound free lifetime license a short while back, and really like their interface and stock cabs/mics etc. Am even thinking of buying some of their cabs as they sound great.

So, I have a few options. And need some advice from you pro’s out there ?

1) Preamp VSTs. I have free versions of NI Guitar Rig (bigger bundle than the stock, as I have a Komplete 6 MK1 audio interface I purchased in 2012 with software bundle – so have more preamps than just the Jump model etc), Amplitube 4, and Ignite Amps Anvil/NRR-1/Emissary etc. I like the preamp sounds of some of the Guitar Rig stuff and it’s a nice and easy interface, but the Ignite preamps sound great combined with IR’s. I’ve also tried disabling the cabs on Guitar Rig and using TWOS IR’s, but I think the Ignite Amp preamp tones come out on top. Any advice/user experience? Despite Amplitube 4 being one of the first guitar VST’s I used 10 years ago, I have a preference with Guitar Rig as I have more amps and effects to use (without having to buy the pro versions).

2) I also have a POD 2.0 as was thinking about disabling the cab simulation, recording into audio interface, and use IR’s instead. There’s some cool YouTube videos of people doing the same with some great results. Plus you get real knobs you can play with! Downside is you are committing your preamp sound to track so less tweaking post record.