Recording equipment set up required for near professional sound quality for guitar

nicholasherbert

Hi there
I just joined this forum today - I am completely new to home recording and have very little knowledge about it as yet.
I am hoping for an answer from someone who can explain in laymans terms as much as possible what i need to know.
Basically I want to set up a home recording studio to record mainly - acoustic and classical guitars and possibly dobro,
I have a 6 year old laptop - about 1gb of ram - CPU not that powerful under 2Ghz i think. I have a copy of Cubase le4 and audacity and a Samson COIU USB condensor mic. I am able to basically record into the software - but the quality is crap!

I want to get a near studio professional sound from the computer - how do I go about that?
Do I need - 1) a new sound card with built in preamp
2) a new sound card and a seperate preamp?
3) a better Condensor Mic - that is not USB?

How come the computer picks up the sound of the guitar - with the Samson USB mic - just plugged into the USB port?
I understand the laptop is supplies the phantom power which a Condensor Mic needs - but does the built in laptop soundcard process it? Is there a preamp built into the soundcard in the laptop - I thought that mics need some sort of boost to the signal or it is inaudabile?

Anyway sorry about all the questions - but Im new to all this - basically my budget would be up to about 1000 euro - getting bits and pieces over time.

Thanks

A USB Mic is really a microphone, A/D converter, audio interface, pre-amplifier and phantom power transformer all in one compact low cost package. You know how much you paid for the mic. Now spread that cost across the number of components involved to get an idea on the overall quality of the finished product.