Recording electronic drums help

soadperson22

Newbie here, I’m not sure which section is most appropriate for this, so here I am.

I’m a solo recording artist using GarageBand on a MacBook. It’s not practical in my current living situation to have a real drum kit, so I’m looking to go digital but I’m not really sure where to start. I want the sound to be as close as possible to the real thing and need something more than just loops and automatic fills.

From what I’ve been able to research so far, it seems that a drum machine would be my best option but there seems to be a pretty wide range of choices depending on functionality.

I have guitar and bass down, I’m essentially trying to be my own drummer without having a physical drum kit. Do I go with a drum machine, and if so, what features should be my main priority? Is it relatively easy to just plug in and play/record through garage band?

Any and all advice would be much appreciated! Thank you!

The first thing "we" need to know is if you have an audio interface? If you do, make and model please.

If not they are legion but there are a few things that mark some out for your attention as you have a specific requirement, drums. Look for an AI that has at least two microphone inputs* and if possible two more line inputs (they will be specified as inputs 1/2 and 3/4). You also, IMO really want an AI with MIDI ports.

Interfaces usually come with a bundled "lite" software recording package (often have to dld it these days) and one that would I am sure suit you is Cubase. Pretty sure there are "drums" in the bundled version but you do get a subsidised upgrade to a better one.

Check reviews and look for comments about "latency". You want it low, it is the delay twixt hitting a key or pad then hearing the sound. Good AIs, properly setup will have such low latency that you won't notice the delay. Native Instruments AIs have really low latency and come with Cubase and other sample software to download.