recording drums -- a hybrid approach w/ e-drums and mic'd cymbals

jccmusic

ok - so i'm not exactly a newbie, but i'm a self-taught, impatient, i-hate-recording-with-computers kind of guy who deserves to be scolded for my ignorance and stubborn approach. compared to most on this forum, i really don't know what i'm doing.

that being said, i'm trying to record drums in cubase 6 in a hybrid sort of method -- here's what i'm using:

- alesis dm8 pro
- zoom r24
-mackie 1202
-cubase 6
-2008 macbook pro w/4gb ram
-owc 500gb hd @ 5400rpm
-real cymbals
-a couple small diaphragm condensers
-dbx 1215 rack eq if necessary
-a couple art tube mp's if necessary

i want to play the kit live using the dm8pro's drums, and my real hi-hat and ride. i am considering buying either ezdrummer or addictive drums, so that's part of my equation/question i suppose.

problems:

- latency (duh) - semi-old computer - can't use a better one. what i don't want is for a ridiculous signal path/method and my own ignorance to be what's holding me back.

-only 2 usb ports on the macbook pro - one is used up by the DONGLE! one must be used for the dm8pro so the drums are midi, i have zero left for the r24. should i get a usb hub? i only need 1 additional, but i imagine it should be powered, and will it slow down anything?

here's my stab at the best method:

2 mics (1 for hi-hat, 1 for ride) into mackie 1202, panned hard L and R and output into r24 inputs ... 1 and 2. r24 into macbook pro via usb

dm8pro into macbook pro as midi input/channel via usb.

dm8pro and mics as different channels - record simultaneously - so 3 total channels/tracks in cubase.

SO -
in order to achieve this, i'd have to get a usb hub. any recommendations? but if this setup is completely ridiculous in the first place, any recommendations on a better solution?

sorry this is so convoluted, that's kind of my style.