Recording DI with a box or through only interface?

AustinBBN7

I am a beginner when it comes to recording guitar DI. I have always used a cab and mic. With my current setup it just isn't possible. I am working on a track right now and tracking DI into a Presonus Quantum interface and the sound its ok but it just seems dull to me.
I am using the ToneForge Ben Bruce amp sim on it and the client recording is using an epiphone les paul with pro-bucker pickups.
The sound good but not great - just isn't full sounding.
Granted I have done basically no compression or EQ yet.
Would adding a DI box before going into the Quantum really make that much of a difference?

I am recording at 48Hz by the way

DAW: Logic Pro X
AMP: Ben Bruce ToneForge

Thanks in advance for any assistance

The DI input (aka, "instrument" or "Hi Z) of the vast majority of AIs is just a "flat" amplifier with very low distortion. Therefore you will get none of the pre amp, power amp or speaker character of a guitar amplifier. It is basically there to present the correct load, the "magic meg" to the guitar and grab a track.

Once grabbed you now have effectively a guitar in a bottle. You can mangle the .wav all ways up from Xmas. There is shedloads of guitar FX software and plugins to experiment with, much of it free or at least in 30 day trails.

There are other options. A power soak that takes the speaker signal and feeds you the amp's sound, still needs speaker "emulation" though some soaks/load boxes even do that as well.
Then there is "re-amping" Google dat!

Also see: "Sound on Sound Aug 2007".

Dave.

Have you really given the Logic amp sims a good workout? Played with switching cabs, mics and mic position and put it through a good room in Space Designer? I’ve always found something usable.