Recording Advice Needed

Mr Green Genes

I have been playing guitar for 14 years now and I have finally decided to pony up some dough to set-up my own recording studio. I recently purchased Cakewalk Sonar Home Studio XL and I am trying to find out the best way to eventually achieve what I am looking for. I want to be able to record live music efficiently and I also want to record some overdubs for professional sounding demos. Guitar, bass, drums, and vocals (one day) are the main instruments.

I have been looking into several audio interfaces (USB only for simplicity), but all of the reasonably priced I/Os only have two inputs for microphones. I am only interested in recording guitar through my amp with a microphone as I am a tone freak. I was also looking into USB mixer boards as well, as I am wanting to have several inputs for miking drums properly. I could get away with the I/Os and the two mike inputs for rough sounding cuts for ideas and such, but that leaves me very limited for recording songs for demos and personal enjoyment.

I just have a few questions concerning this stuff and I need some advice. Do the mixer boards have the same quality effect as the I/Os as far as sound card quality, latency, etc...? Is it is really necessary for me to have to buy a mixer just for the extra mike inputs? I really like the Audio Interfaces, like the E-MU 0404, but I need more inputs. The I/Os I have seen with 4 or more inputs are EXTREMELY expensive, so that is out of the question. I already have a few microphones (well my bandmates do) so I have the capability to record the way I want to.

I am just looking for a convenient way to record all of the instruments in the most cost-efficient way. I know quality home recording is expensive, but to get the bare-knuckle, basic stuff I want should be attainable from just one interface device and a few microphones. Any help would be appreciated.... thanks