Record a sound and then play it back using my midi controller at different notes

Cjax

Hi All!

I'm a complete noob and will most likely refer to things incorrectly but this is an exciting new hobby for me and i need a little help. Here's an example of what I'd like to do:

My 2 year old daughter has this little keyboard. It has a setting that allows it to play back a cat meowing. You can play back the cat meowing the full note range of the keyboard.

I would like to be able to record a sound with my mic, into adobe audition or any of the other pieces of software I have and then play it back using my midi controller like it was an instrument.

Does that make sense? Can anyone help?

Thanks!

Please avoid the temptation to rework Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata for cat samples and post on YouTube.... you know you want to... :mad:

Thanks for your help Washburn and thanks for the laugh Armistice!

This project is for my 4 year old's entertainment and for me to learn a little more about the audio recording world.

FREE: Shortcircuit 1.1.2 from vemberaudio.se/shortcircuit.php
It's a vst sampler plugin; just drop the .dll into your vst folder and reboot your sequencer program.

Simply drop a .wav file onto a key and it'll play back when you trigger it via midi keyboard.
You can also make it do a range of keys like her keyboard.
Tons of features. It'll also play the jillions of soundfonts available on the web.

(Don't use v.2 on the page, the program was abandoned. But v.1.1.2 works great in any vst host)

My 2 year old daughter has this little keyboard. It has a setting that allows it to play back a cat meowing. You can play back the cat meowing the full note range of the keyboard.

I gave a friend's 7 year old daughter a 25 year old Casio SK-1 for Christmas. Kids still love that little keyboard! :D