reaper and fx

musomaniac

hi all , heres another stupid question , but unfortunately i'm a total newbie to recording , i have reaper , and would like to record some guitar , do i have to record totally clean , ie with no effects , distortion ect , and add it after recording , the passage i want to play is pretty fast alternate picking and to do it without some degree of distortion on is extremely difficult , would it be possible for someone to walk me thru the process of how to do it.
many thanks in anticipation

ok thanks for the links , some intersting information within them , i have an all valve starfield preamp in my rack , and a 4 x12 marshall cab , i already have a shure 57 mic so i'll mic my cab up and see what it sounds like , would still like to know how to record with distortion plugins pre record (if you know what i mean ) rather than putting it on after recording . surely reaper can do this .

hi all , heres another stupid question , but unfortunately i'm a total newbie to recording , i have reaper , and would like to record some guitar , do i have to record totally clean , ie with no effects , distortion ect , and add it after recording

get the sound you want out of your amp and record it. you won't need to add effects within reaper.

get the sound you want out of your amp and record it. you won't need to add effects within reaper.

+1. Yes, why use a plug-in for distortion when you can just use your pedal or amp distortion. Just my opinion but, using as many of your own effects is generally more natural sounding than using plug-ins. If you insist upon using a plug-in fx, you can certainly do that once you've recorded the track - I don't recall if you can use fx on the fly and monitor the recording while you play but, I'd imagine Reaper would let you, I've just never tried it myself, never needed to do that.