Quick MIDI question!

Nosirrom

I'm new to this MIDI thing,i've been recording without it for a few years now (with a MIDI drum machine and keyboard :rolleyes: )

I am headed out today to pick up some MIDI cables and give it a shot. I'm a little confused about the set up though.

Soundcard
MIDI IN
MIDI OUT

Drum Machine
MIDI IN

Keyboard
MIDI IN
MIDI OUT

How would i go about hooking these up at once due to the Drum Machine not have a OUT to go back to the soundcard. My first thought was Soundcard OUT -> Keyboard IN .... Keyboard OUT -> Drum machine IN ... but then it dosent go back to the Soundcard. :confused:

Last edited:
Nosirrom said:
I'm new to this MIDI thing,i've been recording without it for a few years now (with a MIDI drum machine and keyboard :rolleyes: )

I am headed out today to pick up some MIDI cables and give it a shot. I'm a little confused about the set up though.

Soundcard
MIDI IN
MIDI OUT

Drum Machine
MIDI IN

Keyboard
MIDI IN
MIDI OUT

How would i go about hooking these up at once due to the Drum Machine not have a OUT to go back to the soundcard. My first thought was Soundcard OUT -> Keyboard IN .... Keyboard OUT -> Drum machine IN ... but then it dosent go back to the Soundcard. :confused:

Ugh. A sound card with only one midi output. You're trying to drive the drum machine and keyboard from the computer and drive the computer with the keyboard.

So what you need here is a MIDI thru box. Run the keyboard out to the computer's input and split the computer's output using a thru box to the keyboard and drum machine.

The problem is that a thru box costs way more than it should. It would be cheaper to buy a cheap MIDI interface that has more than one output. :) Depending on how well designed the gear is, you might be able to get away with just making a custom splitter cable by taking two MIDI cables, cutting them, and splicing the wires together. If you do that, make sure you don't accidentally reverse any of the wires.