Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: A question for the pros - Getting into sound engineering.

Thanks

A question for the pros - Getting into sound engineering.

Sign in to disable this ad
    I'm 31, and I work in healthcare in a skilled area with a lot of responsibility. I like my job but it's not my passion.

I am seriously thinking about doing a 3 year university course in Music Production, I've filled the application out but not sent it yet. The course looks great and it's something that I spend a lot of my personal time doing and would love to get paid to do it and learn more about it. I have learned a lot just from this forum and people tell me that my mixes are sounding decent, so I feel that it's something that I can do very well at if I put my mind to it.

My question is; Am I too old? In regards to doing the course, I can go basically freelance in my current role and earn nearly what I currently earn while doing this course and go back to it if it's not successful, and use the knowledge and skills/connections that I've learned/made to maybe build a business on the side. But I worry that the opportunities will be few and far between for someone of my age, as I'll be 35 when I finish and might be considered a bit 'past it' when I go to apply for jobs in recording studios and stuff.

Any advice or input would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks, Phil.

Thanks
    I sent you something I hope helps.
    Placebo stomps 96k ....... Recent projects
    Ray Catfish Copeland 'Got Love Jim Goodman 'Southern Steel

Thanks
    Thanks. Just for clarity, Mixsit sent me a link where someone else was asking a similar question but they were already in college, asking if they had made a big mistake due to the current state of studios and the industry.