Question on Preamp/Mixer and Starter Setup

pham0167

the newbie question is: what exactly is preamp and mixer and what is the need for them?

I know that a mixer is used to combine several inputs to become one inputs or to control the series of inputs, as for preamps, i am kind of clueless. Hope you guys have the patience to help out.

I have been playing guitar for about 5 years and recently getting interested in recording my music. My equipment so far is fender amp and strat, martin acoustic, boss br-864 recorder studio, pair of oktava mc012, and the usual effects.

My plan is to record mainly acoustic materials for experimentation with guitar overlays, harmonies, and solos; some electric, drum machine, and an old casio keyboard will be use. I hope to be able to record vocal as well, in the future with a singer or if i can learn to sing real quick. Either way, I am trying to get a Damien Rice- natural acoustic/vocal sound as i hear he used an 8-track recorder and three condensers.

I am confused on the need of a mixer/preamp for my setup, i think i need a mixer since i will be recording in stereo with other instruments and a possibility of vocals in the future. I will probably get the Eurorack MX802A since it's low cost and has everything that i would need for a small project.

What is then the need for a preamp? Since the MX802A has a built in preamp already.

Do you guys have any other suggetsions or comments that could help out? Thanks very much.

mic pre

amplifiers have different "stages" of gain.

a mic pre.... changes a <MIC> level signal into a <LINE> level signal, which is much stronger. then this signal is sent through the electronics.

the mixer, takes the various inputs and "mixes" them into an (either stereo or mono) output.