Poor quality recordings

Hi all

I've been recording music covers for 7 years and still can't get it right, so I belong in the noob section. Simple acoustic and vocals through an Audiobox 96 through Studio one 3 (Scarlet CM-25 mic), previously used the Line 6 UX1 and Scarlet 2i2 (Ableton live & Cubase respectively) and my quality is equivalent of a potato or an old flip phone on everything I touch. How on earth do people get full professional studio quality on theirs so flawlessly, some even get better quality than original recordings off their phones. Can't afford to keep throwing money on new mics and interfaces. It shouldn't be that hard to get a decent guitar sound without any fancy work surely without having it sound thin/muffled or distorted. Any tips appreciated :)

I'm not a phone guy, so if you're how to make a good phone video of you playing and singing, you can just skip over the rest of this - I've got nothing...

The audio equipment (not your phone) you have should be able to record voice and guitar just fine. If it's not working, then you have to address the mechanics of mic placement, gain staging and room "contributions" that may be working against you achieving what you are hoping for.

I'd suggest you work on just the acoustic guitar recording part, and after another post you can attach an MP3 of your guitar track. Describe your setup precisely (mic distance/placement from guitar, room, etc.) and leave effects off and see if you get some feedback about improving just the tracking. Then when that's optimal, you can start trying out some effects, like EQ, compression, maybe reverb, to get the sound more finished.