Please help me select a DAW

Mdismuke

Newbie here looking to get into home recording.
I've recently purchased my computer and interface.
Now I need to find a compatible DAW and I need your help.

My Computer
* MSI GS63 Stealth
* Windows 10 OS
* Intel Core i7 (8 gen)
* 16GB RAM
* Hard Drive: 256GB M.2 SSD with 1TB (SATA)
* Thunderbolt 3
* 64 Bit

My Interface
* Desktop 2x4
* Thunderbolt 3 powered
* UAD Plugins

The DAW has to be compatible with Windows 10, 64 bit, and have the ability to allow 3rd party UAD plugins.
I'm not sure if the Thunderbolt 3 is an issue or not but I read there were some compatibility issues with some DAWs on the UA website.

I was looking at Pro Tools and downloaded "Pro Tools First" (free version) just to get a feel for it but I never could get it working and later learned that it's 32 bit (not compatible) and won't allow 3rd party plugins. I'm not looking for anything "free". But I don't want to spend good money and later learn that it's not even compatible. Any help would b greatly appreciated!

I just bought the reaper license after trying it for a while, the decider was that I had a 15 song project to mix where the budget was running out so I did a deal that I would mix on Reaper and only charge an hour a song allowing for my learning curve. Works great. Originally I was only looking at Reaper for MIDI, still haven't even gone there yet.

Alan.

There's so many that you need to try them, like you did for PT. My vote goes to Cubase. Why? It's the one I have used for 25 years. Are other better? Maybe - I don't know because I am happy with the evolution of Cubase. It works for me. I cannot contemplate ever swapping and starting again.

There's so many that you need to try them, like you did for PT. My vote goes to Cubase. Why? It's the one I have used for 25 years. Are other better? Maybe - I don't know because I am happy with the evolution of Cubase. It works for me. I cannot contemplate ever swapping and starting again.