Please HELP can't get my 166xs to work

AlexUK

So basically i'm trying to get my 166xs to work in my setup for compression and a noise gate in my podcast and livestreams. The problem is that i get no audio pickup at all when i have my triton fet head connected as a preamp at the mic. But as soon as i unplug the fet head i get a audio signal from the mic when i turn the output gain on max +20 on the 166xs, but it's a increadiby weak sound and has a lot of hissing with it. If i use the setup without the 166xs involed the fet head works perfectly at boosting the signal cleanly, so i feel like the fet head works fine, but as soon as i use the fet head in line with the 166xs it's almost blocks the signal from the microphone completely. Do i need a new preamp for this setup to work or have i set it up wrong, or am i stupid lol. Sorry if this doesn't make much sense i'm still fairly new to understanding external mic hardwear

Equipment
Mic: Rode Procaster
Audio Interface: Focusrite scarlett solo 2nd gen
preamp: Triton fet head
Compressor / Limiter / Gate: dbx 166xs
XLR: ugreen

Last edited:
If you are going from the Procaster --> FEThead --> DBX --> Scarlett, then that's your problem.

The DBX166 is a line level device that does not supply any phantom power, which the FEThead needs to operate. In addition, the DBX is expecting to see voltages in the .3 - 2 volt range, not the millivolt range that you get from a microphone.

I'm not exactly sure if you can feed the line output from the Solo to the DBX and then back into the second channel of the Solo. It might set up a feedback loop. The interface is not set up for the normal line out/line in that you would use for a external compressor.