Newbie with a Sony minidisc recorder

julchek

Hi -

Let me prefice this by saying that I am a total novice when it comes to recording. I wanted to be able to record my band's stuff, for the purpose of making demo CDs to send to places who might want to hire us. My little Radio Shack tape recorder just wasn't cutting it, quality wise. So I wanted to make the next step, without spending a lot of money. So...

I just purchased a Sony Net MD Walkman MZ-NF810, which allows for an external mike for doing the recording, thinking that I would be able to transfer stuff I recorded from the minidisc to a CD. You can imagine my surprise and dismay when I realized that Sony does not allow transfer from the MD to my computer, to copy to a CD. (My friend got the same Walkman setup, and was told by the place we both purchased these things, that you would be able to copy stuff to a CD - liars) Now, I e-mailed Sony, who told me that "Audio recorded to the Net MD Walkman recorder via a microphone, radio etc, can only be recorded to a computer via an analog connection. In order to record from the MiniDisc player to the computer, one could connect an adaptor cable between the headphone jack on the MiniDisc player to the line in jack on the computer. .... As long as your computer has the proper card and inputs, for recording music from the MiniDisc, you will be able to transfer the live recordings 'from' your MiniDisc to your computer. Once the songs have been transferred to your PC, you will be able to open them for playback through your favorite media player." Now, I am trying to decipher this whole e-mail, and hoped someone here might be able to help me.