Newbie Home Recording/Studio Advice

drbabbers

All,

I was after some advice on setting up a little studio to record my 3 piece band at rehearsal. I have basic experience with sequencers and have done a few amateur recordings using USB audio interfaces.

I want to get into the world of multitrack recording as I want to be able to record a 4 piece drum kit and cymbals.

I am using a Macbook Pro with Mac OSX Snow Leopard 10.6.6 and it has 2 USB interfaces.

Ideally I need recommendations on what hardware and software I should purchase. At this stage I am not too concerned by mics, I just want to secure the basics and build from there.

I have taken a look at this site: 'Tweak's Guide to the Home and Project Studio' which was very informative. It looks to me like I need to purchase a mixer with at least 4 or 5 inputs/simultaneous tracks. I would like the setup to be portal if possible!

Any advice is much appreciated! Thanks.
D

I have just had a browse on the web and have been comparing Computer Audio Interfaces vs Hard Disk Based Multitracks.. I don't have to use my Mac and at this level would be willing to start the basics on the multitrack as a standalone.. Once again any help is very welcome..

I use a ZOOM R16. It's an 8 channel interface that can also record as a standalone using SD Cards. It packs some decent onboard effects and the pre's are usable. It's been a pretty reliable piece of gear.
]

Thanks for the reply. What software do you use on the Mac in conjunction with it?

I have had a look on google and a popular match seems to be the Tascam family of USB audio interfaces. Ideally I want one with multiple XLR inputs. They seem pretty good value for money also.

D

Thanks for the reply. What software do you use on the Mac in conjunction with it?

I have had a look on google and a popular match seems to be the Tascam family of USB audio interfaces. Ideally I want one with multiple XLR inputs. They seem pretty good value for money also.

D