New to this whole thing

mhill3313

Hey Im new to all this so i apologise if i say something incorrect.

I can't get my microphone to work at the moment there is just some white noise coming into it.

I have microphone with a male xlr connector on it which goes into my mix board (soundcraft epm 8) and from that i have an xlr to 3.5mm plugged into the xlr output into a usb audio adapter plugged into my pc

i have no software installed no particular drivers installed, is there something im doing wrong?

im using a usb adapter because my pc doesnt have a mic in port.

Check first that you have good mic signal coming out of the mixer. If you do, then you're problem is after that...might be the USB adapter, might just be your computer setup.
Since you have no software or particular drivers installed...how are you trying to hear the mic in the computer? How are you checking it there?
I mean...you need to have some kind of audio application in order to hear the mic in the computer...even if it's some audio app that is part of the operating system...but you most likely would want something more.
Also...that USB adapter needs to be readable by something in the computer....IOW...something in the computer needs to read the audio signal...and that's usually some sort of audio application.

Can you say what it is you are trying to do...what are expecting at the computer side of things?

What USB adapter? Normally people use a USB audio interface designed for direct connection from a mic. The mixer wouldn't be needed though could be used in some cases.

Yeah im getting a great signal from mic to the board.

My pc has drivers installed on it, i have used basic headset mics etc before hand, this is first time trying an actual mic through the board.

the way im seeing if tyhere is any sound coming in is by watching the the device in recording devices menu on my pc, i choose to listen to the device to hear whats coming out which is just the white noise.