New Members: Introduce Yourself Here!

If it is JUST flute you want to record then something like the Tascam DR-07X would probably be all you need (but a bog cheap mic stand would be invaliable) If however you wanted to get into voice recording, other instruments and building tracks, you really should be looking at an Audio Interface.

That means a much more complex setup and naturally more dosh!

Dave.

I do like the portable recorders for quick and easy recording. The DR40x and H4n both will record 4 channels, and will also take external mics, which allows you to expand beyond using the internal mics. Its a relatively cheap and simple way to get into recording.

If you get a mic stand, you need to get a 1/4" male to 3/8 female adapter. The portable recorders, like the DR07x and the Zoom H4n, etc have a 1/4" screw hole for a photo tripod attachment.

HI! I'm a musician. I recorded back in 2004 solo piano, my original music and some covers. I created 2 albums on my (I still have it but found out it's worthless now days) M-Box that then was by DigiDesign and Focusrite. ProTools came with it for free. I bought condenser mics and a sound engineer said he was blown away by the quality of my recordings. I self-published through Oasis CD Manufacturing and sold close to 4,000, yet never "toured".

I also play acoustic guitar. Playing at open mics I'm finding people are seriously liking my original songs. I sing and play. I'm thinking of creating at least one album and see what happens. I want to create a CD, yet maybe that's not a good idea now days as CD's don't really sell any more. I need to see about Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 Second Generation I found used in "like new" condition. It seems that's what has replaced the M-Box, I think... and reason I came here to learn about contemporary equipment and with a low budget musician. Carpe Diem! Winfred