hotwired99

Good morning,

Complete newbie, practicing guitarist for 44 years but really behind with technicals! I'm 53 years old, semi retired, and want to start playing solo gigs (or duets), maybe even join a band again. I do classic rock, country, blues.

I have two questions to get started....

1. I like to practice / learn via youtube videos. I use a Behringer GDI 21 "amp modeler" and plug guitar into that, then from there into mic input into my computer, then from there I use wireless headphones so I can hear my guitar and youtube through the headphones. However, the Behringer is horrible, horrible, horrible. Is there a decently priced "sans amp" style box out there that can give me decent guitar sound, but not cost $400-$500?

2. I have a little powered mixer for my PA system which can also act as a recording mixer (DAW?) via USB into my computer. I have NOT decided on software to use though. I'd like as SIMPLE as possible. With music, I don't like to think too much ... I know there's the old standby "Audacity" but is that the best choice? I don't mind spending some money on a good one that will get the job done.

I have a PC by the way, if that helps.

I think that's it for now, and thank you!

Hello Hotwired and welcome.

First thing, make and model of the USB mixer. I am going to guess it is a fairly early model and these had there drawbacks for home recording. The main one is noise. The mixers are 16 bit only devices, this should not matter, CD is 16 bit and more than good enough but these early mixers had an inherent fault whereby they were even noisier than they should have been.

However, there are some steps you can take to minimize the noise. The second possible problem is that if you want to build tracks...Record guitar chords say then add fills, maybe a bass line, vocals? All can be done in a PC with very basic equipment but USB mixers generally are operationally not suited. So, what you need is an Audio Interface.