new audio interface/drivers

paresh

Hi - I'm not a newbie but don't understand audio interface drivers. I have an Edirol UA-5 - 12 yrs old. It works fine with WDM on Win 7 & I'm a little intimidated about change. I have not been able to use ASIO 4 ALL with it. Can I just get a new interface without any problems playing all my old recordings? Can I just stay with WDM & not ASIO drivers? It sounds fine to me recording at 16 bit/44K & then I don't have to mix down to CD standard.

I'm considering a change because my mixer is malfunctioning & I want to downsize. I think a new interface would work well enough as a mixer for a project studio. Thanks!

Yes - your old recording should play just fine through the new interface.
Have you any interfaces in mind? What recording software are you using?
I think mist interfaces use ASIO nowadays anyway by default.

Thank you!! No specific interfaces in mind yet...any recommendations? I also get confused about monitoring but I'm not using midi - just audio, so all I need is to be able to play guitar over headphones & record while monitoring the backing trax. Is there anything I'm missing?? I use Sonar X-1 & win 7

I use an old U42S by Lexicon (they have a new model # now same thing though). They have 2, 4 and 8 channel models. ASIO but pretty simple setup. Rock solid. My buddy uses an UA101 which is has more inputs but is also a solid piece. He also has the Quadra something by Roland which is pretty good.
I think you get Pantheon reverb plugin for free with the Lexicon.
I use Sonar X3 mainly to keep current with my writing buddy's software.

Thanks I'll check them out. I did forget to mention one thing: I have high-end ribbon mics, nice quality but such low output... the mic pres in my mixer barely boost them enough. I think I should just sell them & get a dynamic mic & not have to deal with it any more, as an interface with good enough pres would probably be too expensive. Thanks again.