Need input on what direction to go with vocals.

opaque

Hey guys,

Some background on me: I'm 19 years old. I've been creating music for a solid 4 years now; I would really like some input on what direction to go in. A few things I think are important:

-I solely use Logic Pro X for production as well as vocals. I'm aware that Pro Tools is the industry standard, I tried it out for about a week and gave up (my fault, of course)
-I do a ridiculous amount of vocals for demos. For example, I'll have a "sketch" instrumental that i'll put on a loop and see what comes to mind (words and/or melodies, depending on the track)
-I don't have anything spectacular equipment wise. A high-end MacBook Pro, Shure SM7B, F'rite 2i2, a few pairs of sony headphones, monitors, and a pop filter.

Though it's somewhat hard to describe, my voice is tenor; very light, not particularly powerful. I have a noticeable lisp most of the time and the issue I run into with the SM7B is that I'll get these hideous high frequencies where I can hear every sound (a persons lips moving in the slightest, lots of little gross "mouthy" sounds, and pops) regardless of how I adjust the AI, position of the mic, cables, type of pop filter, distance, EQ's - so I'm thinking the SM7B might not be the best choice for me.

I travel a lot and do demos with people (I don't have the money to book studio time) and I get similar results - I know it's not gonna sound perfect without "proper" studio equipment for noise reduction, but there's been a few times where the recordings have come out solid. Also, I produce a lot of pop/synthy stuff.

Lastly, I feel like whenever I'm processing vocals, it's a guessing game. Me tweaking random things until it sounds good, which is super lazy and time consuming. I've felt stuck for the past year or so.

So, what I want to ask is:

- Should I upgrade my equipment?