Need help narrowing down Saramonic UwMic9 issue

kingedawg

Hi, first time here - I'm a videographer for a school and just getting into the finer points of recording audio, so bear with me.

I've been doing some tests to figure out why our videos have so much background hiss and inconsistent levels - the speaker usually isn't much louder than the hiss, and the level jumps up not only when the speaker turns their head, but also just random syllables. We're limited in what equipment we have, so it's a Saramonic UwMic9 wireless transmitter receiver, shoe mounted, and I'm testing it with two devices - what we usually use, a Sony a77II DSLR, and a Canon camcorder we don't use but I've been using to compare how they handle the sound.

The mics are fine, I wired directly into the mic jack on the Sony and had none of the issues. I definitely think this is a wireless issue; the Sony doesn't handle audio very well at all but like I said, hard wired mic sounds fine. Recording level on the Sony is set down to 0, Saramonic only has Group A powered on, transmitter pack gain set to 28 (of 30, all the way up is a little too hot), RF strength on the Saramonic receiver is at High but it doesn't seem to make a difference... I did a bunch of tests with the Canon, which has a shoe mount with XLR inputs and an attenuation switch, and got much better results but the issue with levels is still there a little.

This is in a closed off room with little to no outside noise, but this is a medical school so there is a ton of wiring that could be causing interference just outside the room. However, there's nothing on the RF indicator on the receiver to suggest it's outside interference. Using the Saramonic's auto scan tells me to use channel 1 every time, and I don't know how I'm gonna go through 96 frequency channels to see if there's even a difference. Help please!