Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Need advice please

Thanks

Need advice please

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hey guys, im new here, just wanted to ask couple of questions.

Now i want to start producing music on my own pc, got a bunch of home studio stuff and now i only have to get little things to have it done.

I was really confused about either getting a Midi with pads or to get a separated Midi keyboard and Midi Pads alone.

Im a **piano player** and i already own a YAMAHA YDP-143 which has a usb connection port.

so what should i do ?

Should i get a 25-key Midi with pads, or to get a 49 keyboard and a separated Pads Midi instead ?

Thanks
    For me a no brainer - I have an 88 key master keyboard and it has loads of pads. I have never, ever, used them for anything. If you are a pianist - how well will you play with half a keyboards? The questions though is what do you want to do. if you just want percussion and effects then a small one with pads could be fine and use your Yamaha for the real playing? If you ever buy Kontakt samplers and other similar ones that use keyswitches, bigger keyboards allow simpler and easier performances. If you need pads, and have your keyboard, then more keys seem a bit pointless?

Thanks
    Thank you for replying,
    Well i thought that way but a friend of mine told me to get more keys since they have better sounds than the yamaha which will make me love it more and stuff.
    Well, as im a noob let me ask this question,
    Since i have the yamaha, can i change its sounds from the DAW? Or just the existing built in sounds?
    And by that you think i should get a 25 with keys as the best option ?

Thanks
    I myself do not do much keyboard based music, so anything I say may not be on point.

As far as I know, unless purchasing a very high end keyboard, you are better off using your DAW for sounds and the keyboard as only a controller for software.