Must have recording books/DVDs

ericlingus

Hi, I am new to home recording and was wondering what books and/or DVDs are a must read/watch. I already have Pc recording studios for dummies,The idiots guide to home recording, everything home recording book,guerilla recording,home recording basics,and rhythm basics(drum programming tips). Anything else that I should definately get? I heard modern recording techniques and The Mixing Engineer's Handbook are good.

I just got Mastering Audio: The Art and the Science by Bob Katz, and it is amazing! You should check it out. It is not so much geared towards beginners, but it has some excellent information.

BTW there was a thread about this not too long ago. Just search for it. :D

IMO
Recording Tips for Engineers by Tim Crich. Easy easy easy book to understand. He makes it really simple for beginners.

to watch...Tom Dowd and the Language of Music. You'll just sit in awe for a couple hours.

easy books

Hal Lenard products have many books and videos for beginners the BoB Katz mastering book is like 800pages and is for a recording engineer that wants to learn to master great book but not a beginner, the PC recording for dummies Is almost worthless, It has sometimes only a paragraph or no needed info at all I give it a 1 out of 5 its crap due to the extreme brevity of it.Honestly sometimes you can not beat a DVD on home recording as you see not just read.I have a free level 1 home recording interactive PDF text I wrote and other resource's as I am now adding to my music business teaching products the PDF is totally interactive with video clips, and links to the freeware stuff used in the course.
http://www.digitalgoatee1.zoomshare.com/I am almost done and my free and cheap PDF stuff will be up soon I posted it on my little free site, got rid of my big pay site due to cut backs.