Mixers and Home Recording

Hey guyz!
i am new to homerecording.com , heard about people who became pro in this site. i am also willing to be a part of circle like you pro people.
right now i have focusrite scarlett studio kit. and the badest thing is, after investing my whole pocket money i'm still not getting good outcome. no one in my town has awareness about mixing and mastering.
i'm a featured guitarist and a bit keyboardist. right now am using reaper with lots of plugins which puzzle me alot.
really need your support and help to start my home studio.
i will be thankful to you.

Faddy

First off, this should probably be a thread in its own right...perhaps a passing moderator could split it off into the Newbies section?

Okay the first thing to say is that a Scarlett interface and Reaper working together are capable of good results. You don't mention what microphone(s) you have but let's assume you're okay in the regard. Some mics are better than others but it takes a pretty bad one to actually mess up your recordings.

Therefore I have a couple of suggestions for you:

One thing to consider right away is the acoustics of the room you're working in. An untreated room can make any recording sound pretty bad. Ideally, you'll spend some time and money doing a proper job of acoustic treatment but, to get going, you can get a pretty big improvement by hanging movers blankets or thick duvets behind and around you. (Some of us have built frames out of cheap PVC pipe to hold this sort of thing.) This, combined with working close to the mic (see my next point) can make a big difference.