Microphones and Audio Interface

BenSav

Hey guys!!

I am relatively new to recording and I only record vocals, I currently have an AKG Perception 120 USB and I am looking to upgrade to a better microphone and an audio interface.
I am having trouble decide which one to purchase.
I am male, with quite a low voice, my room is not treated, although it isn't very echoey at all, which is a bonus.
I don't want to spend for than around $650 US for both the mic and interface.

Please give me some ideas :D
Thanks guys!

I am looking at buying the Rode NT2-A along with the Tascam US122 MKii.

What are everyone's opinions on this combination?
Cheers

My fellow bandmate and I do all our vocals on an NT2 (not NT2a) and like it OK. I have quite a deep voice as well, and the other guy's testicles have also fully descended although they don't scrape the floor like mine. The mic works for me, although doubtless you'll get other opinions. Can't help you on the interface, sorry...

A lot depends upon the type of vocals being recorded as well, incidentally.

Thanks for the reply.
I will be singing stuff like Michael Buble, Drake, jessie J.
So a varied choice, but still all kind of Pop style.

I've used the Rode NT1a on a lot of sessions and its never let me down. Interfaces (and mics for that matter) are all subjective. It depends on what software you want to use. If you want to use ProTools go with something from the Mbox line. There are plenty of others that are far cheaper. You could get a cheap interface buy a decent outboard preamp and then a decent mic and you would be in fine shape. Or buy a more expensive interface that has a decent preamp in it and a mic. I have an Mbox 2 mini and it would be fine for just doing vocals, and has another input for a guitar or something like that. If I was going back and buying something again I'd probably buy something cheaper and spend that extra paper on a better mic.