Microphone/XLR Cable problems

ZachW

Hey all,

I'm not sure if this is the best place to ask for diagnosing equipment problems, but here goes.

I'm totally new to home recording and using microphones and whatnot. I have a Sterling SP150 that I'm borrowing to use for various home recording projects. When I plug it in to an audio interface there seems to be no output at all. I've run all of the basic troubleshooting tasks, made sure that phantom power is on, that my DAW is using my interface for input, etc.

Since the microphone is pretty new I'm pretty sure that isn't the source of the problem, and I think the issue may have to do with the XLR cable attached, but one thing I've noticed is that the cable seems stuck in the jack. No amount of (reasonable) force + holding down the button seems to get it loose. I've opened up the microphone around the jack area and had a look inside but there doesn't seem to be any way to get to the actual jack without removing some electronic components.

Is there something I am missing here? I haven't been able to find any threads that deal with this specific issue.

Cables go bad, but probably not the problem. None the less, try another cable.

Did the mic work for whomever you borrowed it from?

What audio interface are you using? What DAW?

How are you monitoring? How do you know you're not getting a signal?

As for the jack. I have found some mics and some cables don't latch up nicely. I had one mic that I had to cut the jack notch deeper to get the cable to lock in place.

I believe the Sterling is a condenser mike, so you will need to make sure the phantom power is on on the interrface.

If you have the connector stuck - I'd fix that first. What kind of XLR? Neutrik, Switchcraft, Canon, or clone design? Assuming it's a Neutrik design, unscrew the collar, slide it back and the insert should pull out leaving the circular barrel. That might then come out with a little wiggling?