Mic won't work on my PC (Behringer UM2 interface + MXL 440 mic)

aclstudios

DAW: FL Studio

(also use Audacity for simple voice recordings)

Equipment: this set- Behringer U-PHORIA UM2 Interface Kit with MXL 440 Microphone, Mic Stand, Headphones & More from B&H Photo and Video.

But the important parts are the mic, which is an MXL 440,
and the interface, which is Behringer UM2.

I also use the headphones from the kid, plugged into the interface as well. They seem to work fine.

The mic does not. On any program or anything.

I tried turning the volumes all the way up, changing every setting, Google searching the problem, watching videos how to set it up.

Nothing seems to get it to work.

I'm a total jinx with tech stuff and it shows. But does anyone know why it may not be working? It's all brand new, so it should.

Hi, and welcome to HR!

You didn't mention phantom power/+48V so, I guess, it's worth asking if that's turned on?
The switch is round the back.

Also, can you confirm that you're using an XLR to XLR cable?

Hi, and welcome to HR!

You didn't mention phantom power/+48V so, I guess, it's worth asking if that's turned on?

Thank you!

Yes, I had the 48v switch turned on. The interface power turns on automatically if it's plugged into a computer that is on. Both power lights were on.

And yes I used that cable. It came with the set. (I can't post a link yet but you can Google the name)

Ok, So far so good.
So we have to figure out if the issue is in the hardware realm, or software.

The interface has a signal and clip LED so I'd plug in the microphone, turn on phantom power, turn up the gain, then tap the mic (gently) and watch those lights.

If nothing lights up then your mic/cable/interface is bad.
If the lights are go, then the issue is in software territory.

Let us know. :)