Lav mic gives a very boxy sound when placed at collar

Dhonchak

Hello,
This is my first post here so pardon any mistakes.
Coming to the point, I bought a lav mic (Boya M1) for youtube videos,and it gives a very nice audio when i hold it directly in from of my mouth. But the issue starts when I place it on my collar, it gives a very boxy and muddy sound. I tried playing with the equalizer a bit but being a newbie I just can't match the sound I want. I'm very satisfied with the sound I'm getting when it is directly in front of my mouth. Is there any way to help this?
I've tried editing with premiere pro and audacity.
I've attached a sample of the audio. I'll be really greatful for any help, since I can't really afford much equipment.

Attachments

• sample audio.mp3
    441.8 KB · Views: 13
What [MENTION=39487]mjbphotos[/MENTION] said. You can fix this with a little EQ. Really quick lift somewhere around 5-7k, and a bump at 10k (in Audacity - limited at present)

View attachment EQd-sample.mp3.

That kind of mic is not really "high fidelity" to begin with, but for spoken word should be Ok.

I concur - it sounds exactly like an omni mic with an indirect path to the mouth. when you hold it in front of you, the HF has a clear path and is brighter. Pressure operated mics always do this at ANY price. For the dirt cheap price it's surprisingly good to be frank. A little EQ, as mentioned, and it's totally acceptable.